API Reference - Overview

The USAJOBS REST based API is designed to support lightweight content consumption by consumers. It is anticipated that this API will be leveraged by Commercial Job Boards, Mobile Applications and Social Media sites who desire to provide employment opportunities on their site. Typically in these commercial venues, the breadth of data presented to a user (job seeker) is much smaller than the detailed content provided on USAJOBS, as required by law.

Authentication

The search jobs require authentication using an API Key provided by USAJOBS after submitting the API Request form.

The code list endpoints do not require authentication.

Pagination

The search jobs API has the potential to return a large array of objects.

The API will leverage paging to return the results in groups of 250 JOAs per page by default. This can be adjusted by passing the parameter "ResultsPerPage" with a number up to 500. Specific pages are retrieved by passing the parameter "Page" with the number of the paged result desired. The following example would return page three containing 50 results (i.e. results 151 - 200).

https://data.usajobs.gov/api/Search?Page=3&ResultsPerPage=50

API Endpoints

All API endpoints use a GET HTTP Request Method

Name Endpoint
Search Jobs /api/Search
Agency Subelements Code List /codelist/agencysubelements
Occupational Series Code List /codelist/occupationalseries
Pay Plans Code List /codelist/payplans
Postal Codes Code List /codelist/postalcodes
Geo-Loc Codes Code List /codelist/geoloccodes
GSA Geo-Loc Codes Code List /codelist/gsageoloccodes
Countries Code List /codelist/countries
Country Subdivisions Code List /codelist/countrysubdivisions
Travel Code List /codelist/travelpercentages
Position Schedule Types Code List /codelist/positionscheduletypes
Position Offering Types Code List /codelist/positionofferingtypes
Who May Apply Code List /codelist/whomayapply
Hiring Paths Types Code List /codelist/hiringpaths
Academic Honors Code List /codelist/academichonors
Action Code List /codelist/actioncodes
Degree Type Code List /codelist/degreetypecodes
Document Format Code List /codelist/documentformats
Race Code List /codelist/racecodes
Ethnicity Code List /codelist/ethnicities
Documentations Code List /codelist/documentations
Federal Employment Statuses Code List /codelist/federalemploymentstatuses
Language Proficiencies Code List /codelist/languageproficiencies
Language Code List /codelist/languagecodes
Selective Services Code List /codelist/selectiveservices
Military Status Code List /codelist/militarystatuscodes
Referee Type Code List /codelist/refereetypecodes
Special Hirings Code List /codelist/specialhirings
Remuneration Rate Interval Code List /codelist/remunerationrateintervalcodes
Application Status Code List /codelist/applicationstatuses
Academic Levels Code List /codelist/academiclevels
Security Clearances Code List /codelist/securityclearances
Key Standard Requirements Code List /codelist/keystandardrequirements
Required Standard Documents Code List /codelist/requiredstandarddocuments
Disabilities Code List /codelist/disabilities
Applicant Suppliers Code List /codelist/applicantsuppliers
Mission Critical Code List /codelist/missioncriticalcodes
Announcement Closing Types Code List /codelist/announcementclosingsypes
Service Types Code List /codelist/servicetypes
Location Expansions Code List /codelist/locationexpansions